Training

This page shows what training I have done so far – and details what training I aim to do in the last 5 weeks before the ride.

I will update it daily so you can see how I am doing.

DATE DAY TARGET MILES ACTUAL MILES TIME TAKEN TIME IN SADDLE TARGET AVE. SPEED ACTUAL AVE. SPEED ROUTE DETAIL
23rd June 2010 All before now 700 639.33 48 hours 42.21 hours 16 15.15 Gym, various rides - see blog for more info
24th June 2010 Thursday 50 0 0 0 16 0 Drove to physiotherapist for consultation - treatment for back problem tomorrow morning 830am.
25th June 2010 Friday 50 0 0 0 16 0 see diary entry
26th June 2010 Saturday 100 63.4 4.83 hours 3.93 hours 16 16.1 thorp arch - wetherby - boroughbridge - easingwold - york - wetherby - bramham
27th June 2010 Sunday 100 57.8 4.08 hours 3.61 hours 16 16.01 2 trips, 39.9 miles then 17.9 miles
28th June 2010 Monday 50 13.1 0.75 hours 0.75 hours 16 17.3 Cycled to pitches to play football
29th June 2010 Tuesday 50 19.4 1.2 hours 1.13 hours 16 16.9 Office - Bickerton - Wetherby - Office
30th June 2010 Wednesday 50 36.6 2.3 hours 2.15 hours 16 17 office- wetherby - minskip - knaresborough - little ribston - wetherby - office
1st July 2010 Thursday 50 31.5 2.32 hours 1.95 hours 16 16.2 office - back roads to York city centre - Accomb - Long Marston - office
2nd July 2010 Friday Whatever possible 0 0 0 16 0 Spent evening moving to house in York - probably best part of saturday as well but will try and get out late afternoon.
3rd July 2010 Saturday Whatever possible About 10 ish maybe more About an hour About an hour 16 Dont know See diary entry
4th July 2010 Sunday 100 84 7.75 hours 6 hours approx 16 14 to 14.5 speedo broke - see diary entry , route = york-wetherby-pool-beckwithshaw-boroughbridge-wetherby-york
5th July 2010 Monday 50 12 0.67 hours 0.67 hours 16 17.9 Cycled to football. Not worth mentioning.
6th July 2010 Tuesday 50 About 10 ish maybe more 0.67 hours 0.67 hours 16 15 approx See diary entry - injury
7th July 2010 Wednesday 50 0 0 0 16 0 See diary entry - injury
8th July 2010 Thursday 50 0 0 0 16 0 See diary entry - injury
9th July 2010 Friday 0 0 0 0 0 0 Driving back up to glasgow
10th July 2010 Saturday 60 21 4.17 hours 1.34 hours 16 16 See diary entry - bike issues!
11th July 2010 Sunday 50 0 0 0 16 0 Aaargh! See diary
12th July 2010 Monday 0 0 0 0 0 0 planning activities
13th July 2010 Tuesday 0 0 0 0 0 0 Planning activities - see diary
14th July 2010 Wednesday 50 22.2 2 hours 1.42 hours 16 15.7 office - wetherby - boston spa - tadcaster - office
15th July 2010 Thursday Whatever possible 0 0 0 16 0 Had to drive to North Wales after work
16th July 2010 Friday Whatever possible 0 0 0 16 0 North Wales to Bristol, Bristol to York. All in a car though unfortunately.
17th July 2010 Saturday 100 52.6 3.5 hours 3.35 hours 16 15.7 Office - Bickerton - Tadcaster - York - York bypass - Rufforth - Wetherby - North Deighton - Wetherby - Office
18th July 2010 Sunday 50 50.5 4.5 hours 3.67 hours 16 13.7 office - boroughbridge - beckwithshaw - pool - office
19th July 2010 Monday 50 33.3 2.08 hours 2 hours 16 16.65 office- cattal-boroughbridge-knaresborough-wetherby-office
20th July 2010 Tuesday 50 18.3 1.03 hours 1.03 hours 16 17.7 Office - Walshford - office
21st July 2010 Wednesday The right amount about 6 about half an hour about half an hour 16 about 15 Relaxing cycle around York
22nd July 2010 Thursday 50 0 0 0 16 0 Had to do some organising work instead
23rd July 2010 Friday 0 0 0 0 0 0 Night off
24th July 2010 Saturday 50 27 1.43 hours 1.43 hours 16 18.8 Round york , Haxby, Clifton, Accomb
25th July 2010 Sunday 50 43.4 3.17 hours 2.83 hours 16 15.32 york-rufforth-walshford-wetherby-tadcaster-york
26th July 2010 Monday 8 hours sleep 6.5 hours sleep 7 hours 6.5 hours 0 0 Upstairs - bathroom - bed - read book - light scratching - pillow adjustment - max comfort. Need to get 8 hours tomorrow!
27th July 2010 Tuesday Lots of carbohydrates Lots of carbohydrates not long even less 10 spoonfuls per minute 23 spoonfuls per minute Front door - kitchen - fridge - cooker - living room